Since 1979, Texas law has allowed cities to form economic development corporations to attract businesses and create job opportunities. In 1989, the Legislature amended The Development Corporation Act of 1979 to allow eligible cities the option of adopting a dedicated sales and use tax to fund industrial development projects. Since 1991, Wills Point EDC has assisted with creating more than 300 new jobs.

The Business Park was created after Wills Point voted to approve a levy 0.05 of the authorized sales tax for the purpose of promoting economic development within the confines of the city. The administration of the Park consists of the Mayor and four directors. The Wills Point Economic Development Corporation is classified as §4A, meaning the sales tax is limited in use to industrial and manufacturing facilities, recycling facilities, distribution centers, small warehouse facilities, closed or realigned military bases, and some allowances in the areas of commercial business development, business airport facilities, and port-related facilities.

The Park consists of 146 acres fronting on U.S. Hwy 80 East of downtown Wills Point approximately one mile. The corporation has completed construction on $2,000,000 worth of infrastructure on the park premises to better serve the industrial needs of the occupants. Improvements include concrete streets with curb and gutter, adequate water and sewer facilities for the entire Park, natural gas, twenty-one fire plugs, access to fiber optic high speed internet; T1 line or WiMax, and a stem tower to assure water supply for all businesses in the Park.


Wills Point EDC offers a range of incentives tailored to fit a company’s specific needs. Incentives for moving to the Park are available depending primarily on the number of new employees brought to and hired in the 75169 zip code.


Pam Pearson, Administrator – ppearson@willspointtx.gov
Kathy Massey, Administrative Assistant – kmassey@willspointtx.gov
36671 State Hwy. 64, P.O. Box 217
Wills Point, TX 75169
Phone 903-873-3381, Fax 903-873-3081


Dyde Manning III, President
Jeff W. Aston, Vice President
Janet, Secretary/Treasurer
Mark Turner, Mayor
Kenneth W. Byrd, Member

Comments are closed.